Our network


Early/Advance Voting for the General Runoff Election in Dekalb County Ends 11/24

Atlanta, GA-- Early Voting has just begun in Dekalb County for the General Runoff Election.  Early Voting will last from 11/17 to 11/24 at 4380 Memorial Dr. in Decatur, only. 

The hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, with no Saturday voting.

Further, there will be no satellite Advance Voting locations.

The Runoff Election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 30.

10 of the Dekalb County Mayors Meet to Announce their Support for a Transportation Act

Atlanta, GA--  Decatur Mayor Bill Floyd, released a press release announcing him and 9 other Dekalb Mayors meeting tomorrow in support of the Transportation Act of 2010.

Get Out and SMASH the Vote Rally in Stone Mountain 10/29, 6-9pm

Atlanta, GA--

Who - Black Latino Council, National Action Network , & League of Women Voters of Georgia

What - Get Out & SMASH Vote Rally

When - Friday October 29th 2010 6-PM

Where - Echelon 3000 - 1179 S.Hairston Rd, Stone Mountain, Georgia 30038

Why - To energize the Hispanic, Latino , & African American VOTER's


Last Week of Early Voting. Polls Have Extended Hours

Atlanta, GA--  In an effort to increase voter turnout in DeKalb County, Chief Executive Officer Burrell Ellis and Board of Commissioners Presiding Officer Larry Johnson announced that the Elections Office will be openfor extended hours.

During Advance Voting week only, Oct. 25-29, four additional sites with extended hours of 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

New Chief of Police for DeKalb County

Recently, DeKalb County has announced the appointment of William D. O’Brien as DeKalb County Police Department’s new Chief of Police.

O’Brien is a 25-year veteran of the DeKalb County Police Department and DeKalb County native; O'Brien graduated from Redan High School in 1981, then attended West Georgia College and DeKalb Community College.

He obtained an Associate’s Degree in Criminal Justice from DeKalb Technical College and obtained a Bachelor of Science Degree in Criminal Justice Administration from Columbia Southern University. He graduated from the 23rd DeKalb County Police Academy in 1985 and has since been a Police Officer Standards and Training certified law enforcement officer.

New Members on the Chairman’s Budget Review Committee

LAWRENCEVILLE, GA -- Six Gwinnett residents will serve on the Chairman’s budget review committee to help set priorities and seek ways to prioritize spending in county government operations and capital improvement plans. Board of Commissioners Chairman Charles Bannister announced the six members on Tuesday, saying he increased the number from two in previous years in response to rising public interest.

The committee members are: Sam Brownlee, retired Fulton County Administrator; attorney Dan King of King and Spalding; attorney Michael Levengood of McKenna Long and Aldridge; Laurie McClain, a CPA with McClain & Company, PC; Southern Company’s Herman Pennamon; and Wayne Sikes, Gwinnett Hospital System board member.

The 2010 Legislative Community Cabinet & Breakfast Meeting is Saturday.Roy Barnes & others to Attend

Atlanta, GA--  On Saturday October 2nd from 9am to 11am, the Dekalb Legislative COmmunity Cabinet is inviting all of the Georgia Statewide Democratic Candidates to its annual breakfast to meet the residents and answer questions.

The Guest speakers will be, Mike Thurmond (US Senator), Roy Barnes (Governor), Carol Porter (Lieutenant Gov.), Georganna Sinkfield (Sec. of State), and Daryl Hicks (Labor Commissioner).

New Piney Grove Missionary Baptist Church

Dexter O.